Europeans VS Americans: Who is more linguistically savvy?

Europeans VS Americans: Who is more linguistically savvy?

A Pew Research survey shows that in the US only 20% of graduates study foreign languages, while in Europe the number is close to 92%.

What’s the reason?

Marty Abbott, executive director of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages, points out that language indifference has developed historically. An American grew up, started a family and lived with the slightest risk of encountering a language that was foreign to them. However, business processes and technological development have changed everything.

Most Americans don’t understand why they should learn foreign languages. According to Pew 2016, just 36% of US residents believe that a second language is necessary for success at work. According to ACTFL, most local businesses need multilingual employees but cannot find them.

The result is a real business problem. As most deals are not done in formal negotiations with an interpreter present, but in informal meetings.

The main reason for the lack of interest in foreign languages is geographical, political and cultural isolation. Europeans are neighbours of foreign-speaking states and therefore have to speak to their neighbours more often.

Most European states include one foreign language in the compulsory school curriculum, less often two (Australia, France, Norway). Pew Research shows that the average age at which children begin to learn languages is 9 years. There are no specific standards on this issue in the US.

According to Abbott, Americans often think they are not inclined to learn foreign languages. However, this problem can easily be solved by introducing second and third languages in the compulsory education programme.

A professional English translation agency in Minsk.

Our company has been certified according to ISO 17100:2015
Our company has been certified according to ISO 17100:2015
molfar-iso-certificate
Literary translation
The complexity of literary translation lies in the fact that it is necessary not only to convey the meaning of the text, but also to preserve the uniqueness of the author's style.
Литературный перевод
Foreign languages ​​and their impact on income
The knowledge of additional languages increases job applicants' salaries by up to 48%. So which language is worth learning?
Делай деньги
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30
stadler

Офис №1:
ст.м. Пушкинская
ул. Берута 3Б, офис 415
Офис №2:
ст.м. Партизанская
ул. Жилуновича 15, офис 317
Офис №3:
ст.м. Немига
пр-т Победителей 5, офис 217 - мы открылись!
Горячая линия:
+375 44 768-02-88
+375 29 257-14-58

Европейцы VS американцы: кто лингвистически лучше подкован?

Опрос службы Pew Research показал, что в США только 20% выпускников изучают зарубежные языки, а в Европе это число приближается к 92%.

В чем причина?

Исполнительный директор Американского совета по преподаванию иностранных языков Марти Эбботт отмечает, что языковая индифферентность сложилась исторически. Американец рос, создавал семью и жил с малейшим риском столкнуться с чуждым для него языком. Однако бизнес-процессы и технологическое развитие изменили все.

Большая часть американцев не понимает, зачем изучать зарубежные языки. По сведениям Pew 2016, всего 36% жителей США уверены, что второй язык нужен для успеха в работе. По информации ACTFL, большинство местных предприятий нуждается в многоязычных сотрудниках, но не может их найти.

В итоге возникает реальная бизнес-проблема. Поскольку большинство сделок заключается не на официальных переговорах с присутствующим переводчиком, а на неформальных встречах.

Основная причина отсутствия интереса к иностранным языкам – это географическая, политическая и культурная обособленность. Европейцы соседствуют с иноязычными государствами, поэтому чаще вынуждены разговаривать со своими соседями.

Большинство европейских государств включают в обязательную школьную программу один иностранный язык, реже – два (Австралия, Франция, Норвегия). Исследования Pew Research демонстрируют, что средний возраст, в котором дети начинают знакомиться с языками, – 9 лет. В США конкретных стандартов по этому вопросу нет.

По словам Эбботта, американцы часто думают, что не склонны к изучению зарубежных языков. Однако эту проблему легко решить, если ввести второй и третий языки в обязательную образовательную программу.

Профессиональное бюро переводов на английский язык в Минске.

Вакансии

Открытые вакансии в нашей
компании

Нотариальные конторы

Нотариальные конторы
города Минска

Вопрос-ответ

Ответы на часто задаваемые
вопросы